Sunday 26 January 2014

January 26th Update

The AGM of the minor club will be held on this Saturday 1st February at 5pm in the clubroom. It is vital for a large turnout to ensure a successful year going forward and the club urges parents of any children involved with teams to come along. Plans are in full swing for the dinner dance to be held in Kilronan Castle on Saturday the 8th of February. Tickets are selling fast and still available from any club officer. On the night medals will be presented to the winning intermediate team  and also to the beaten  u21 team. Player of the year awards will also be presented to both the Men’s and Ladies teams. Shane Curran will be special guest on the night. The club offers condolences to the Egan Family Knockarush and the Mc Tiernan family Church View on their recent bereavements.

Boyle Ladies GAA Club AGM report.

There was a good attendance at the Ladies AGM on Sunday 26th in the clubrooms. Laura thanked all for their attendance. She went on to thank all the generous sponsors who had helped the club all year. Sinead provided a comprehensive report on the onfield activities for the year. The treasurers report showed the need for more fundraising in the coming year but also how much the generous contributions of our sponsors had aided the club during the year namely Pat Brogan, ANSAmed, Brendan & Helen Reid and Alan Simon/Ultimate Insulation. Team reports showed great progress at all levels and great potential for the future of the club.

The officers for 2014 are as follows:

Chairperson: Karen Brogan
Secretary: Sinead Keenehan

Treasurer: Cathy Garavan
Registrar: Sabrina Kerins

Assistant Registrar: Sarah Keenehan
P.R.O.: Laura Gannon

Children’s Officer: Mary Duggan
Insurance Officer: Mary Duggan

Monday 20 January 2014

There was a large and enthusiastic attendance at Boyle (Senior) GAA Club AGM on Saturday evening last in the Clubroom. Outgoing Chairperson Aidan Lavin welcomed the attendance and congratulated all involved in making 2013 such a successful year for the Club. He congratulated the McGovern Directional Drilling Intermediates and their management on achieving promotion to the O’Rourke Cup and on winning the Intermediate Championship and reaching the Connacht Club Final. He also thanked the Cooney Motors/ Cooneys Centra Junior and the National Automation Limited U21s and their respective managements  on reaching the final stages of their respective competitions. He thanked the sponsors of those teams and all who had made special contributions to the fundraising for the Intermediates. He also thanked Boyle Credit Union for sponsorship of the electronic scoreboard in the Abbey Park. Aidan also thanked all who helped in any way with Club activities throughout the year, including the Rural Social Scheme workers under Gerard Tivnan for their efforts. Aidan also thanked all who had worked with him during his six years as Chairperson, describing the Club members as his extended GAA family. He paid special tribute to Club Secretary Kathleen Hanmore, who was also stepping down after many years in the post. Kathleen presented a very comprehensive report on the year’s activities. The Treasurer Mary Smith presented a detailed statement of the Club’s finances. She thanked all who had participated in the Club’s various fundraising activities, and all who had supported the fundraising, including those who supported the Club Lotto. She also thanked Brogans and Natural Options Chemists for their sponsorship of the lotto envelopes. The Outgoing PRO Martin Dolan thanked the Roscommon Herald and Sean O’Dowd at Realboyle, and the County Board PRO for their excellent coverage of the Club’s activities. The following were elected; President; John Joe Nerney, Vice President; Barry Feely, Chairperson; Martin Dolan, Vice Chairperson; Kathleen Hanmore, Secretary Mary Clifford, Assistant Secretary; Barry Lowe, Treasurer; Mary Smith, P.R.O Mark O’Donohoe, Asst P.R.O Bernie Mullins, Delegates to County Board; Martin Dolan with Aidan Lavin and John Kelly,Delegates to Northern Board; Michael Brennan and Paul Beirne, Childrens’ Officer; Jan Flanagan, Insurance Officer; Michael Furey,  Registrar;  Cian Smith, History Officer; Tony Conboy, Lotto Co-ordinator; Aidan Lavin, Pitch Co-ordinator; Martin Purcell. Jonathan Conroy was ratified as U21 Manager. Club membership was fixed at €80 for players and €20 for non players. The meeting advised that all players be registered immediately and subscriptions to be given to Cian Smith.
A special meeting of the Club will be held in the Clubroom on this Tuesday night (21st) at 9pm to consider the motions arising from the deliberations of the County Games Development Committee,which will come before the forthcoming County Board Special Convention. All Club members are asked to attend.
There will be a special ceremony at the Clubroom on Thursday evening when a plaque will be unveiled to commemorate the 125th anniversary of the founding of the County Board in Boyle in January 1889. All are welcome.
The following were €20 winners at the last Club Lotto draw, which was held in Wynnes Bar; Mary and Cathal McGee, Tom Commons, John and Marguerite Nally, Aine Tivnan, Michael Candon and Fiachra Tivnan. The house prize was won by Daniel Scanlon. The jackpot wasn’t won and it will stand at €5,400 for next Saturday night’s draw which will be held in Mattimoe’s, with Team D in charge. 
Shane Curran has been confirmed as the Special Guest for the Club’s Presentation Dinner Dance, to be held in Kilronan Castle Hotel on Saturday 8th February. Tickets are in great demand for this event and patrons are advised to  contact any of the Club officers to get tickets.
The Minor Club AGM will be held in the Clubroom on Saturday 1st February at 5pm in the Clubroom.
Boyle Ladies
The AGM of Boyle Ladies Football Club will be held in the Clubroom on Sunday next 26th January at 5pm. All players and members and all who are interested in the continuing development of ladies football in Boyle are asked to attend. Training for Intermediate Ladies will be held in the Abbey Park on Friday at 8pm. All players are asked to be on the pitch and ready to go at 7.55pm