Monday 10 February 2014

Update 10 February 2014

Results of last Club Lotto draw which was held in Creightons; Winners of €20 each--Eileen McGowan, Michael Costello, Matt Smith, Deirdre Kearney, Marina Scally and Aoife Brady. The house prize was won by Andrew Healy. The Jackpot wasn’t won and it will be €5,500 for next Saturday night’s draw, which will be held in Mattimoes. Team E will be in charge.

The Club Dinner Dance in Kilronan Castle Hotel was an outstanding success. We were delighted to have Shane Curran as Special Guest, accompanied by his wife Sharon. The Ladies Club Chairperson, Karen Brogan and Men's Club Chairperson, Martin Dolan welcomed the attendance and thanked all involved in all aspects of GAA activity in Boyle. Gratitude was expressed to players, parents, management teams, sponsors and supporters. The player of the year awards which this year were chosen by the managers of the respective teams went to the following, Intermediate Player of the Year (joint winners) were Mark O’Connor and Darren O’Connor and was presented by Mary Clifford and Mary Smith. U21 Player of the Year went to Killian Cox and was presented by Kathleen Hanmore. Junior Player of the Year was Noel McKenna and was presented by Leonard Sutton.  Ladies Club Player of the Year went to Danielle Gaffney and Danielle was presented with the Seán Daly Memorial Trophy by Paddy Daly. Club Person of the Year went to a very surprised Michael Furey and was presented by Martin Dolan. The worthy recipient of the Hall of Fame  award was Liam Kerins who in his own words said '' good things come to those who wait''. Medals were presented to the U21 panel who were runners up in the Division 1 County Championship, by Shane Curran. Shane also presented medals to the County Intermediate Champions. Awards were presented to the Intermediate Management Team of David O’Connor, Bernard Shannon, Michael Bermingham and Ciaran Supple, by the players and by the Club, in appreciation of their commitment to the squad and their hard work throughout the year.  Captain David Callaghan, on behalf of the panel, thanked the outgoing management for their great work. Special presentations were made to Aidan Lavin, former Club Chairperson, Kathleen Hanmore, former Secretary and Tony Conboy, former P.R.O. all of whom have stepped down from their positions recently. Those presentations were made by Martin Dolan, Mary Smith and Mary Clifford respectively. Shane Curran treated  the gathering to a witty, inciteful and motivating address, with many anecdotes relating to his own playing career which he informed us will go for another year at least! The Club deeply appreciates Shane’s contribution to the occasion. Everyone was delighted to welcome Roch Hanmore back into the club after an absence of some 8 years and he informed me that his time to play for Boyle was a championship relegation match with Padraig Pearses in Athleague back in 2006! The Club wishes to thank all who supported the Dinner Dance and all who helped in making the occasion such a success. Special mention must go to Tony Conboy who compered the event with his customary panache, to James O’Boyle for his excellent audio visual input relating to the various presentations, to Martin Purcell for the preparation of the event programmes, and to the management and staff of Kilronan Castle Hotel for the excellent meal and facilities.

The McGovern Directional Drilling panel will commence life in the Senior League on Sunday week the 23rd with a trip to Frenchpark to play Western Gaels. Well done to Enda Smith who had a big impact when introduced in Roscommon's league encounter with Wexford in Kiltoom yesterday, contributing 2 points from play. Fuerty were unfortunately beaten yesterday in Croke Park in their Junior All Ireland Final, and Kiltane from Mayo also lost on the day so commiserations to both and especially Jonathan Conroy who was involved with Fuerty. Sympathy is extended to the McKeon family, Killaraght and the Henry family, Cootehall on their recent sad bereavements.

No comments:

Post a Comment